Conversation・会話

One of the major reasons why I do not converse much in Japanese is because, I dislike misunderstandings. If you look at the numbers, you can understand why I can’t do conversation.

In my current situation, when I am reading I understand about 3,200 words. However, that does not mean I have perfect understanding when conversing. Furthermore, daily conversation requires about 5,000 words. When I’m participating in daily conversation, I have to guess at least 15% of the material! The active vocabulary of an average college graduate is about 10,000 words (31%). This kind of margin for error is gigantic!

That said, a little bit after 8am this morning, someone with whom I had just become acquainted wanted to talk about my opinions on international politics in a room with a number of reporters. YEAH RIGHT. I’ll take a rain check on that one.

azzzIMG_8970

私が日本語の会話があまりしないのは、誤解が生じるのが嫌だからです。数字で見ると分かります。

現状、約3,200の単語が分かります。しかし、会話をする時、それらの単語すべてを完全に理解が出来るわけではないでしょう。しかも、日常会話について約5千単語が必要です。日常会話をする時、少なくとも15%の内容を予想しなければなりません。大学卒の平均的表現語彙は約1万単語です。この差は大きいですね!

そう言えば、今朝8時過ぎ、記者たちがいる部屋で、新しい知り合いが私の国際政治の意見を聞きたがりました。(いやだ!)その件に関しては、又の機会にさせてもらいたいです。

Leave a Reply

